Bravery Medal

Bravery medal front

Bravery medal front
Bravery medal back

Bravery medal back
Bravery bars

Bravery bars


The Bravery Medal is awarded for acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.

It is the third highest Australian Bravery Decoration.


Australian Bravery Decorations date from the establishment of the Australian honours system in February 1975. The Group Bravery Citation was added in 1990.

The decorations recognise acts of bravery by members of the community.

There are four levels of decoration:

There is also the Group Bravery Citation an award for a group of people involved in a single incident. 


Lisa Strathern BM was awarded the Bravery Medal in 2005

Medal Design

The Bravery Medal is a circular bronze medal ensigned with the Crown of St Edward. The medal is surmounted with the shield and crest of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms. The Federation Star is above the shield, which is contained in a circular zig-zag border.

The medal ribbon has alternating red and magenta stripes.