The Australian Antarctic Medal, 2020

The Australian Antarctic Medal, 2020

Government It's an Honour
Tuesday, 30 June 2020

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Photograph of Brad Collins

On 21 June 2020, known as Midwinter’s Day or the Winter Solstice, the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC announced six Australian Antarctic Medal recipients. The Australian Antarctic Medal is awarded for outstanding service in scientific research or exploration in connection with an Australian Antarctic expedition or for support of such work.

This year, we celebrate and congratulate:

  • Professor Patrick Quilty AM AAM: Awarded posthumously, Professor Quilty led the Australian Antarctic Divisions program for almost two decades. A geologist and palaeontologist, Professor Quilty has played a leading role in the international Antarctic science community.
  • Bradley Collins AAM: As a Refuelling Supervisor, Mr Collins has been at the forefront of developing safe procedures for the Australian Antarctic Division ship-to-shore refuelling operations.
  • Simon Cross AAM: As a Field Training Officer, Mr Cross played an instrumental role in the rescue, treatment, and medical evacuation of three injured expeditioners after a 2013 helicopter crash on the Amery Ice Shelf.
  • Alison Dean AAM: Serving as Station Leader at all of Australia's four research stations in Antarctica since 2010/11, Ms Dean provides exceptional leadership in building strong and resilient communities and leading teams through a number of high intensity operations.
  • Leanne Millhouse AAM: Working for the Australian Antarctic Division for over 30 years Ms Millhouse has had various leadership roles as Deputy Voyage Leader, Voyage Leader and Operations Coordinator.
  • Dr Colin Southwell AAM: Making significant contribution to wildlife conservation and management for the Australian Antarctic Program, Dr Southwell developed a remotely operating camera system for seabird monitoring, which is now used by many nations in Antarctica. It has become a critical component of ecosystem monitoring for the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources.

Since its inception in 1987, 103 Australian Antarctic Medals have been awarded.

Congratulations to all the recipients!

Photo credit:

Bradley Collins AAM, Australian Antarctic Division.