Australian Police Medal

Australian Police Medal front

Australian Police Medal front
Australian Police Medal back

Australian Police Medal back


The Australian Police Medal is awarded for distinguished service by a member of an Australian police force. 


Prior to the creation of the Australian honours system members of Australian police forces were acknowledged by Imperial awards:

  • Queen’s Police Medal for Gallantry (awarded posthumously)
  • Queen’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service
  • Police Long Service and Good Conduct Medal

In 1986 a distinctly Australian award, the Australian Police Medal, was created. The medal gives special recognition to members of Australian police forces for commendable service.

The Australian Police Medal was established on 3 March 1986 by Letters Patent.

How it is awarded

The Governor-General awards the Australian Police Medal on the recommendation of the responsible Commonwealth, state and territory ministers.

Each Australian police force may award one Australian Police Medal for every 1000 members, or part of 1000 members, in each calendar year.

Only one award can be made to an individual. Recipients are entitled to the post-nominal APM.

The Australian Police Medal is announced on Australia Day (January 26) and the Queen’s Birthday (June) of each year.

Medal Design

The Australian Police Medal is a circular, nickel-silver medal ensigned with the Crown of St Edward. The front of the medal displays the effigy of the Sovereign on a Federation Star, superimposed over a pattern of fluted rays.

The back of the medal is inscribed with the words ‘Australian Police Medal’ and ‘For Distinguished Service’. The inscriptions are encircled by a wreath of the national floral emblem, the golden wattle.

Medal Ribbon

The 32 millimetre-wide ribbon features a central vertical stripe of dark blue flanked by two white stripes.