Star of Courage

Star of Courage back

Star of Courage back
Star of Courage front

Star of Courage front
Bars and Ribbons

Bars and Ribbons


The Star of Courage is awarded for acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril.

It is the second highest Australian Bravery Decoration


Australian Bravery Decorations date from the establishment of the Australian honours system in February 1975. The Group Bravery Citation was added in 1990.

The decorations recognise acts of bravery by members of the community.

There are four levels of decoration:

There is also the Group Bravery Citation an award for a group of people involved in a single incident. 


Stephen Thomas SC was awarded the Star of Courage in 2016

Medal Design

The Star of Courage is a silver, ribbed star with seven points ensigned with the Crown of St Edward. The obverse has the shield and crest of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms surmounted by a Federation Star.

A suspender bar is engraved with the words For Courage.

Medal Ribbon

The medal ribbon is blood-red with a central magenta band.