New National Drought Agreement

New National Drought Agreement

Domestic Policy Joint Agency Drought Taskforce
Friday, 14 December 2018

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Source: AAP

On 12 December 2018, at the Council of Australian Governments meeting, Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments agreed and signed a new National Drought Agreement, which sets out a joint approach to drought preparedness, response and recovery with a focus on accountability and transparency. It recognises the need to support farming businesses and farming communities to manage and prepare for climate change and variability. The new agreement delivers on a commitment made by leaders at the National Drought Summit and focusses measures across all jurisdictions on bolstering risk management practices and enhancing our long-term preparedness and resilience.

View the National Drought Agreement.