Honouring Australians

Honouring Australians

Government It's an Honour
Tuesday, 04 June 2019

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Graphic tile with wattle design in background, saying ‘the Order of Australia recognises exceptional Australians #ItsAnHonour

In the lead up to The Queen’s Birthday this Monday 10 June, when the Governor-General will announce the 2019 Queen’s Birthday Honours List, it is timely to reflect on why the Australian honours system exists.

Australia has a system of honours and awards to recognise, celebrate and say thank you—to those who make a difference, who achieve their best, who serve others and whose actions have set them apart and enrich our community across a broad range of professional, public and community service fields.

Our honours help to demonstrate those values that we as a nation hold dear—compassion, civility, dedication, courage, kindness, tolerance, and energetic ambition.

Did you know, the current Australian honours system only began in 1975? Prior to that, Australians were recognised through the Imperial system of British honours.

Today there are 58 awards in the Australian honours system, including the four awards of the Order of Australia which confer the highest recognition for outstanding achievement and service.

Anyone can nominate someone for an award in the Order of Australia, at any time of year, and the nomination process is simple.

Visit It's An Honour for more information,