Home Affairs Portfolio established

Home Affairs Portfolio established

Wednesday, 20 December 2017

Department of Home Affairs

About the Portfolio

The Home Affairs Portfolio was established in December 2017, including the Department of Home Affairs.

The establishment of the Portfolio brings together Australia's federal law enforcement, national and transport security, criminal justice, emergency management, multicultural affairs and immigration and border-related functions and agencies, working together to keep Australia safe.

There are four operational agencies and bodies that have transitioned to the Portfolio:

  • Australian Border Force (ABF)
  • Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (ACIC)
  • Australian Federal Police (AFP)
  • the Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC).

The Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO) will join the Portfolio following the passage of legislation.

About the Department

The Portfolio will be supported by a new Department of Home Affairs, formed by the former Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP), and relevant elements of the Attorney-General’s Department (security, law enforcement policy and emergency management), the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet (counter-terrorism and cyber security policy), the Department of Social Services (multicultural affairs), and the Office of Transport Security from the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development.

The new Department will focus on the development and execution of strategy, policy and coordination in addition to the programmatic functions it will undertake either in lead or support of other agencies. It will continue to deliver the full spectrum of visa and citizenship services previously undertaken by DIBP.

To reflect the new department, a new website address has been established, www.homeaffairs.gov.au  and similarly email addresses for departmental staff will be firstname.surname@homeaffairs.gov.au