Nomination Panel for ABC and SBS Board Appointments

Nomination Panel for ABC and SBS Board Appointments

PM&C Who We Are The Secretary
Friday, 23 June 2017

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Image of hand holding a pen and preparing to write on paper

In accordance with the Australian Broadcasting Corporation Act 1983, the Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Dr Martin Parkinson AC PSM, has appointed the following member to the Nomination Panel for appointments to the boards of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) and the Special Broadcasting Service (SBS):

Following the expiration of the Hon Neil Brown QC’s term on 29 June 2016, Ms Helen Williams AO has been appointed as a member of the Panel from 30 June 2017 until 29 June 2020. Ms Williams is a former Australian Public Service Commissioner and Secretary of numerous Departments including the then Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts. She currently holds a number of board and advisory positions including as a member of the Origin Foundation Board and the Bell Shakespeare Theatre Company Board. Ms Williams has significant experience in public sector governance and administration which will be of value to the work of the Nomination Panel.

The Nomination Panel was established to:

  • conduct a selection process for non-executive Members and Chairpersons to the ABC and SBS boards, based on the principle of merit and having regard to the selection criteria provided by the Minister for Communications (the Minister); and
  • provide the Minister (and in the case of the Chair of the ABC, the Prime Minister) with a written shortlist of at least three recommended candidates for each vacancy with a comparative assessment of the recommended candidates.

The Panel carries out its functions assisted by a Secretariat within the Department of Communications and the Arts and, as required, a recruitment firm. The composition of the Nomination Panel is as follows:

Member Date Appointed Term Expires

Mr Ted Evans AC


5 February 2016 4 February 2019
Dr Sally Pitkin 26 February 2016 25 February 2019
Ms Anne Fulwood 4 May 2016 3 May 2019
Ms Helen Williams AO 30 June 2017 29 June 2020