Religious Freedom Review - submissions

The Panel agreed that submissions will be published online, provided the author of the submission consented to its publication and provided there was no other reason not to publish the submission (for example, if publication could raise legal issues).

In addition, the Department reserved the right not to publish submissions which were irrelevant or did not meaningfully respond to the Terms of Reference, as well as anonymous submissions. The Department did, however, publish some submissions anonymously where the author identified themselves in their submission but requested their submission be published without their name.


The views or opinions expressed in submissions are those of the author. The members of the Expert Panel, the Commonwealth or any Commonwealth official are not adopting or endorsing any comments expressed. The Department is publishing the submissions to inform public debate and scrutiny of the conduct of the Review.

The Commonwealth does not warrant the truth or accuracy of the content of any submission and no person should rely on the content of any submission without undertaking their own independent inquiries.

If a person has any concerns, they should email use the webform on the Contact us page of the website. The Department will investigate and, if appropriate, remove the content.


To ensure that the privacy of third parties is protected, and that the Commonwealth complies with its own legal obligations, some submissions have been published with certain details removed (for example, details of third parties, addresses, and phone numbers). There may be formatting changes or redactions as a result.

Further details about the Department's handling of personal information is contained in the Department's Privacy Policy.

Substantially similar submissions


Date of submissionsort descending Submission number Organisation or individual File attachments
14th December 2017 13852 Ian Wearing
14th December 2017 1 David Grills
14th December 2017 2 Elizabeth Springer
14th December 2017 3 George Williams
14th December 2017 4 Leanne Attenborough
15th December 2017 6 Oscar Short-Ridge
16th December 2017 9 Name withheld
16th December 2017 10 Mark Cresswell
16th December 2017 11 Anthony John Lohrey
16th December 2017 12 Igor Bray
16th December 2017 13 Daniel Stevens
16th December 2017 14 Eran Segev
17th December 2017 18 Jaymie Rains
19th December 2017 23 Lindsay Gordon
20th December 2017 25 Naomi Botha
20th December 2017 26 Martin Wurzinger
21st December 2017 29 David Cronin
21st December 2017 30 Annette Kruk
21st December 2017 36 Name withheld
21st December 2017 46 Rikki Lambert
21st December 2017 50 Name withheld
21st December 2017 51 Genevieve
21st December 2017 54 Helen Harper
22nd December 2017 13854 Adam Johnston
22nd December 2017 56 Equal Opportunity Tasmania
22nd December 2017 57 Rod Exton
24th December 2017 66 Joel Mcmahon
24th December 2017 68 Robert McDermott
24th December 2017 70 David Brookman
27th December 2017 71 Colin Longworth
27th December 2017 72 Maverick Emmett
28th December 2017 73 Rev Dr Michael F Bird
28th December 2017 75 Name withheld
2nd January 2018 81 Name withheld
3rd January 2018 83 Name withheld
3rd January 2018 85 Bronwyn Evans
3rd January 2018 86 Peter Blackwell
3rd January 2018 89 Janine Truter
3rd January 2018 91 Brent Gunn
3rd January 2018 93 James Mitchell
3rd January 2018 94 Donald Dryley
3rd January 2018 96 Amanda Allen
3rd January 2018 97 Kris Eriksen
3rd January 2018 100 Cath Walsh
3rd January 2018 104 Robert Martin
3rd January 2018 107 Rod Mulholland
4th January 2018 124 Professor Alex Deagon
4th January 2018 114 Anthea Fraser Gupta
4th January 2018 119 Susan Duffy
4th January 2018 120 Paul R. Nolan


Note: submissions dated 15 February 2018 are those which the Panel accepted after the closing date.