New structure of government departments

New structure of government departments

Friday, 06 December 2019

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

PM Scott Morrison in suit and tie stands between two Australian National Flags and in front of an open doorway. In front is a lectern and four microphones.

The Prime Minister, the Hon Scott Morrison MP has today announced a number of changes to the structure of the Australian Public Service.

These changes, which are part of the reform agenda to put Australians at the centre of Government, will come into effect from 1 February 2020.

They are intended to better align and bring together functions within the Australian Public Service, enhance policy development and decision-making, and deliver easy-to-use services for the Australian people.

The changes, approved by the Governor-General, will reduce the number of Government departments from 18 to 14 and ensure essential services are delivered more efficiently and effectively.

Fewer departments will allow the Government to bust bureaucratic congestion and drive greater collaboration on important policy challenges.

For example, the creation of the Department of Education, Skills and Employment will better integrate the Government’s education and skills agenda, ensuring Australians living in regional areas can access the infrastructure and services they need.

For further details on the restructure, see New structure of Government Departments and the Administrative Arrangements Order made on 5 December 2019 that will come into effect on 1 February 2020.